Atmospheric Pancakes

Sometimes I am a Selfish Little Bugger and sometimes, I am as wide-open as the Clear Blue Sky, expanding onward and upward through the atmospheric layers straight into the Heavens that stretch on into the limitless depths of imagination. The selfish side of me is more like wallowing in the Primordial muck, the basic unknowing part that is inside of everybody, how we all start out, the wide-open part is what is best in all beings and there is a way to get there which is a good part ethereal.

Watching the Bees buzz around in this changing light of Autumn, in this cool fall air, which puts coats of dew on the insides of my windows, reminds me of the effortless way of achieving Peace. This Peace is as fundamentally of part of each of us, as much as the Selfish part is. Neither require much thinking to get to, although at times, the Selfish may be summoned more quickly than the Peace, which may take a while to regain once the Selfish has reared its ugly head. I see the Bees in the Sunlight and the Yellow Leaves and the Blue Sky beyond it all, blue like a dome lid covering everything but the Blue isn’t really a lid, it’s the illusion of a lid, it’s really the layers of the atmosphere all stacked up on each other like cosmic Pancakes. If I were to put a pad of butter between each one and drown them in Pure Maple Syrup (I’m speaking of Grade A Dark Amber, not the Log Cabin Brand), I could chop them up with my fork and knife and eat them so quickly, these soft, light layers and I would have that Cosmic Breakfast for lunch and dinner and a midnight snack!

On this sunny Sunday morning, the light is dancing through the colored leaves and tickling me all over and makes me want to jump and run and be a Child of the Woods and smell the smoke and feel the cool air in my nostrils and filling up my lungs. It makes me realize the tight connection to all of the ages, all the way back, of which I am just the latest link. I am clinging to that realization and wondering more and more whether I am the knot at the end of the rope, that does stretch, no matter how you think of it, all the way back to the first little magic spark that ever happened on this Earth. That magic spark squeezed itself right out of thin air and so began the madness and the struggle that is building into either perfect peaceful bliss or indeed, complete destruction.

Although, I do admit, that the destruction might not be complete and if Humans were somehow wiped from the face of the Earth, as the Dinosaurs were, some other next great group would surely come along and adapt to the situation. Only an incredible cosmic accident could complete destroy life on Earth, the explosion of the Sun or an asteroid so big that it would just reduce us to bits of dust or some other unknown thing.

Today though, is just one day and it’s a beautiful day and I am hoping to survive it and watch the sun go down and to eat my Supper and read a book or draw a picture and go to sleep in my bed, with my little Dog by my side on the floor and the Kitty curled up on the couch, purring lightly, causing a vibration that reverberates into my dreams, then I will wake up on Monday morning with my batteries charged up full of this creative juice and I will make some wonderful art and have a successful week and be at peace and share some of that with anyone who is also open to it!

3 thoughts on “Atmospheric Pancakes

  1. You know that I am craving some hot pancakes with some melted butter between the layers. Yummy I do love Mrs. Butterworth. I know that it is sort of a junk food of syrups, but damn is it good. I hope you have a sucessful, creative week and give that purring kitty a hug from me. See ya…

Leave a Reply

