Working in the ART Nest

 

the raw canvas strewn across my make-shirt table of ply-wood-esque pieces on a framework on saw-horses.

the raw canvas strewn across my make-shirt table of ply-wood-esque pieces on a framework on saw-horses.

To-day I began working on the Large Painting “the Earliest Days of the Miracle Wave”, a Wave which We are riding, like a Comet coming in low, arcing across the horizon. Meredith and I started out with the Filming of the set-up of an impromptu table and then I started to put Gesso on the raw canvas. I got about a quarter of the base coat on when a Man appeared, suddenly speaking very quickly and informing Me that I had to move into the room where all my stuff was not. I explained Who I was and that someone named David said We could set up in there (We were clearly fully set-up), then He said: “I’m David!”. Oh kay, so I’ll gladly move the stuff, just as soon as the gesso dries. No problem, He tells me and then more stuff about the Building Politics and how the storage area is beginning to encroach, rapidly, on the last remaining open space, where I had picked to set up my table and under a light, instead of no lights which is where I was going. Somehow, miraculously, as could only be happening in a wild dream scenario, it ALL worked-out. I took apart the table, moved it and the canvas and cameras, computers, chords, ropes, and paint , then put it back together again, but better this time and after a Coffee-break, I came back, finished applying the gesso and strung that Art-piece up with a pipe and some ropes and then I projected my image on there, right-side up, up-side down, in the middle…

Leave a Reply

